Angela's Glass Studio

A journey with glass, family and personal goals.

Metalsmithing – Part 3

on December 30, 2011

Woo Hoo! Some of my tools arrived today!

20111230-211647.jpg

After doing some online comparison shopping I found that Jatayu.com had a nice selection of tools at good prices. I also found that her descriptions were very helpful for picking which tools I’d like and just for figuring out what they were even used for. I used the Professional Metalsmithing Kit list from Contenti.com as a reference of what I’d need. I purchased the remaining tools from them, but I’m still waiting for them to arrive.

Here are all my tools from Jatayu. Unwrapped and spread out.

20111230-212833.jpg

I’m still not sure what everything is used for. I ordered (from what I hear) the bible of metalsmithing, Complete Metalsmith: Professional Edition by Tim McCreight. But it’s coming with my stuff from Contenti and won’t be here til next week. Ugh! So for now I might just look up some simple projects on the Internet so I can at least make one thing this weekend.

20111230-213359.jpg
Here is the metal I ordered from Rio Grande. I wasn’t exactly sure what I needed so I ordered 3 different types of metal sheet in a couple of different gauges. I also did the same with the wire. I even got some square wire and metal strip.

The rest of my tools will be arriving on January 3rd, two days before my birthday. Hopefully, that’s enough time to figure out a little bit of this stuff and be able to make something I can wear for my birthday. 🙂

~Angela

2 responses to “Metalsmithing – Part 3

  1. Best of luck with your pursuit of learning metalsmithing. Seems like you & I have a similar background, starting with glass and now exploring metal work. I hope you enjoy working with metal as much as I do!

    All the best,
    Kathleen

  2. Thanks so much Kathleen! I’m having fun with it so far. Not making anything that I feel comfortable showing yet. I’m looking forward to reading your blog. I thought it was pretty funny that you started with glass too.

    Angela

Leave a Reply

